4 National Patient Safety Conference Friday 7

4th National Patient Safety Conference
Friday 7th November, 2014
Croke Park Conference Centre
08.30 – 09.15
Registration (Tea/coffee)
09.15 – 09.25
Welcome address by Dr. Tony Holohan, Chief Medical Officer
09.25 – 09.40
Opening address by Mr. Leo Varadkar, T.D. Minister for
Session 1
Plenary Chair – (Mr Phelim Quinn, Acting Chief Executive,
Health Information and Quality Authority)
UK Speakers
09.40 – 10.10
“Inspecting for improvement? Lessons from evaluating the
Care Quality Commission's new approach to acute hospitals"
Professor Kieran Walshe, Professor of Health Policy and
Management at Manchester Business School
10.10 - 10.40
“Being an Agent for Positive Change in a Time of Limited
Dr Helen Bevan, Chief of Service Transformation at the NHS
Institute for Innovation and Improvement
10.40 – 10.50
Question and Answer Session
10.50 – 11.20
Tea/Coffee Break - Poster viewing
Session 2
11.20 – 12.30
Good Practice Presentations
Breakout Session A - Main Auditorium
Chair - Triona Fortune, Deputy CEO, International Society
for Quality in Health Care
Presentation 1
“Methotrexate: A novel approach to safer use of a toxic
Dr Paul Ryan, Woodview Family Doctors, Glanmire, Cork.
Presentation 2
“Mater Board on Board Quality Improvement Project”
Professor Mary Day, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital
Presentation 3
“Implementation of Care Bundles Hospital Wide In a
Tertiary Paediatric Setting - Not without its challenges!!”
Paula McGrath and Tracey Wall, Our Lady’s Children’s
Hospital, Crumlin
Presentation 4
“The development of an Integrated Quality and Patient Safety
Framework to support a multi-site Hospital Group”
John McElhinney, Group Quality & Safety Manager, WNW
Hospitals Group, Sligo Regional Hospital
Breakout Session B - Ard Chomhairle Suite
Chair - Dr John Fitzsimons, Clinical Director, Quality
Improvement, Quality and Patient Safety Division, HSE
Presentation 5
“PharmAceutical Care at Tallaght Hospital (PACT)”
Dr Tamasine Grimes, on behalf of the PACT team, Tallaght
Hospital and Trinity College Dublin.
Presentation 6
“Quality Improvement in Elective Joint Replacement
Dr Louise Moran, Letterkenny General Hospital
Presentation 7
“Safety Pause in Action: A Quality Initiative”
Gillian Mullervy CNM1 and Mary Traynor CNM2, Our
Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin
Presentation 8
“Improving the Quality and Safety of Care for Patients
Transferred by Ambulance to Emergency Departments”
Fiona Brady, CNM 3, Emergency Department, Connolly
Breakout Session C - Interconnecting Suite
Chair – Rosemary Smyth, Director of Training &
Development, Mental Health Commission
Presentation 9
“From Pen to Patient: Improving Prescription-writing
Practice in a Psychiatric Teaching Hospital”.
Dolores Keating, Saint John of God Hospital
Presentation 10
“Implementation of a patient-centred clinican-led National
Quality Assurance (QA) Programme in Histopathology to
enhance patient care and safety”
Dr Niall Swan, Chair of the Histopathology QA Programme
Working Group
Presentation 11
“Poor Influenza Vaccine Uptake in Healthcare Workers – an
issue in need of address”
Ms Siobhan O'Dea, Research Nurse, St James's Hospital
Presentation 12
“SKIN Champions for Kids”
Claire Lundy, Belfast Health & Social Care Trust
(BHSCT), Northern Ireland & Queen's University, Belfast,
Northern Ireland
12.30 – 13.30
Lunch and Poster viewing
Session 3
Plenary Chair - (Dr Philip Crowley, National Director of
Quality and Patient Safety, Health Service Executive)
13.30 - 14.30
National Issues
14.30 – 14.50
The Patient Perspective (Ann Bridge)
Open Disclosure (Angela Tysall, National Lead for Open
Disclosure, HSE and Dr John Tiernan, Executive Director
Member Engagement Division, Medical Protection Society)
National Clinical Effectiveness Committee (Dr Kathleen
MacLellan, Department of Health)
“What does ‘care’ mean in and for health care? - Addressing
the Compassion and Safety deficit”.
Dr Justin Brophy, Executive Clinical Director, HSE Mental
Health Services
14.50 – 15.10
"Complaints Driving Improvements"
Mr Peter Tyndall, Ombudsman
15.10 – 15.30
Panel Discussion
15.30 – 15.35
Closing Remarks
- Dr. Tony Holohan, Chief Medical Officer